Photograph Settings

ImageImageDedicated forum for all your questions, remarks etc about (aviation) photography, digital as well as old fashioned film.

Forum rules
ImageImage
mitchell
Scramble Senior
Scramble Senior
Type of spotter: F5

Photograph Settings

Post by mitchell »

Hallo,

I am quite new with camera's like Canon EOS 350D.
But my question is what are the best settings to photograph airplanes with.

With helicopters I put my shutterspeed on about 300, but its still a bit unsharp.
With Jets I put it on 600, but still unsharp too.

Can someone explain to me what are the best settings that other spotters use too?
I already used the Search, but could not find what I needed.

Kind Regards,
Mitchell vd Berg
▪ Canon EOS 350D + BG-E3
▪ Canon EF-S 18-55mm f3.5-5.6
▪ Canon EF-S 55-250mm f4-5.6 IS
▪ Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
▪ Canon 50mm f/1.8 II *New*

Key
Site Admin
Site Admin
Type of spotter: F2
Subscriber Scramble: U bet

Post by Key »

Hi Mitchell,

Your question is a bit like 'what is the best gear to drive your car in': it depends on the circumstances, and what you want to accomplish. If you mean unsharp because of movement, just keep practising in 'panning' - following your subject with the camera. The shutter speeds you use are generally OK.

Erik
What four words, Jimmy!?!
mitchell
Scramble Senior
Scramble Senior

Post by mitchell »

Hello,

Thanks for your answer.
I will try to practise and practise then :)

Kind Regards,
Mitchell vd Berg
▪ Canon EOS 350D + BG-E3

DJMikey
Scramble Addict
Scramble Addict

Post by DJMikey »

Hi Mitchell, in my opinion there are no 'ideal' settings wich aply to every occasion or circomstance. Weatherconditions at the time you are photographing and your iso-settings can influence your shutterspeed and maybe in your case therefor the sharpness of your pictures.
You can get sharp pictures by using the automatic setting 'sports', but as you probably already know, that setting limits your possibilities.